The Good, the Bad, and the Undead

In the other room, Vanessa screamed as the tank tipped and twenty-five gallons of icky fish water cascaded over her desk. Mr. Ray appeared beside her. I lurched off the stool, soaked from the waist down. No one moved, shocked, and I scanned the floor. "Gotcha!" I cried, scrabbling for the right fish.


This is the second book in a series, and reading further on this page without having read the previous books might spoil some of your fun.

The story:

Someone is slaughtering ley line witches, and Federal Inderland Bureau, the FIB, is hiring Rachel to help them in the investigations. Investigations that will bring her close to some very dangerous people.

About the book:

One of the strengths of this series, is the characters. They are very much not just black and white. Here, we meet a few new ones; like Glenn and Piscary, and we learn more about other characters; Rachel, Jenks, Ivy, Nick and Trent, to mention some. And Big Al.

There is a lot of fun in this book, such as the episode with the familiar. I also like dr. Anders, in a strange kind of way. Even Big Al is entertaining.

One thing I really enjoy about these books is that Rachel makes mistakes, she has her hangups, her prejudices, her flaws and faults. It makes her more real; perfect, or close to perfect, main characters is often boring.

What I also find interesting, is that a lot of the story here would have worked without supernaturals as well, with a few minor changes. In other words, though magic and supernatural beings are important to the story, they don't get in the way of it. Or, rather, Kim Harrison has managed to create a believable society with both humans and Inderlanders, and a way to interact between them that makes sense.

About the author Kim Harrison

Book 1: Dead Witch Walking (2004)
Book 2: The Good, the Bad, and the Undead (2005)
Book 3: Every Which Way But Dead (2005)
Book 4: A Fistful of Charms (2006)
Book 5: For a Few Demons More (2007)
Book 6: The Outlaw Demon Wails (2008)
Book 7: White Witch, Black Curse (2009)
Book 8: Black Magic Sanction (2010)
Book 9: Pale Demon (2011)
Book 10: A Perfect Blood (2012)
Book 11: Ever After (2013)
Book 12: The Undead Pool (2014)
Book 13: The Witch With No Name (2014)

Back to G
Back to title index