Storm Front

I widened my eyes at him, to let him know how terrified I was, then walked past him and into the bedroom. And regretted it. I looked, noted details mechanically, and quietly shut the door on the part of my head that had started screaming the second I entered the room.

The story:

Harry Blackstone Copperfield Dresden is a wizard. A real wizard, with a staff and all. And he is broke. So when a woman contacts him, wanting him to find her missing husband, and pays part of the payment in advance, he just has to take on the case. Also, Karrin Murphy of the Chicago PD, needs his advice in a murder case.

About the book:

It is probably not fair to call the first half of the book 'boring'. It is not, exactly. But the book has a slow start; it is not that I need action to find a book interesting, but this book simply fails to catch my interest until about half-way into the book. Maybe it is the fact that this is the first book in a series, and he tries to introduce us to the setting, but I still feel it could have been done better.

Around half-way through the book, it gets better. The pace picks up, and we get some more details about the characters.

The characters. Some of them are predictable, fairly standard, with not much depth at all. I like a few concepts, like Bob; he has potential. It also seems as if Jim Butcher put a fair amount of work into Karrin Murphy; she is a decent character. Morgan too has potential. As for Harry; he is a bit too old-fashioned and male chauvinist for my taste.

The plot is rather straightforward PI urban fantasy story. There are very few really original ideas here, with no big surprises. The writing is average, and the setting is decent, but nothing spectacular.

Oh, and scorpions are not insects. They are arachnids, like spiders. Not that it is important, but sometimes, details like that stick in my mind.

About the author Jim Butcher

Book 1: Storm Front (2000)
Book 2: Fool Moon (2001)
Book 3: Grave Peril (2001)
Book 4: Summer Knight (2002)
Book 5: Death Masks (2003)
Book 6: Blood Rites (2004)
Book 7: Dead Beat (2005)
Book 8: Proven Guilty (2006)
Book 9: White Night (2007)
Book 10: Small Favor (2008)
Book 11: Turn Coat (2009)
Book 12: Changes (2010)
Book 13: Ghost Story (2011)
Book 14: Cold Days (2012)
Book 15: Skin Game (2014)

Back to S
Back to title index