Turn Coat

The summer sun was busy broiling the asphalt from Chicago's streets, the agony in my head had kept me horizontal for half a day, and some idiot was pounding on my apartment door.

I answered it and Morgan, half his face covered in blood, gasped, "The Wardens are coming. Hide me. Please."


This is book eleven in a series, and reading further on this page without having read the previous books might spoil some of your fun.

The story:

Morgan, the Warden who for years looked for a reason to execute Dresden, is chased by the Wardens, accused of treason. And Morgan runs to the person he knows will know what it means to be hunted by the Wardens; Harry Dresden. So Harry needs to find out who the traitor is, and prove it, or both Morgan, he, and his apprentice will suffer the consequences.

About the book:

This is a good book. The story is solid enough, and the series has been building up towards this for a while now. Having Morgan as the suspect and the hunted one is a nice touch, and I like the character. The more we learn about him, the more I like him. Not necessarily the person, but the concept, Morgan as a character, is a lot more than we saw in the first book.

The culprit in this, or at least one of them, is fairly obvious, and I am not sure if the major badass monster was necessary; I might have wanted to save that one for later. Still, the resolution to that was also nice.

It is also one of the books that again brings emotions into play at a more personal level, not just 'this is unjust' and so on, but people having personal stakes in the outcome.

There are some changes here as well, consequences that cannot be fixed, which I think is a good thing, and makes a story better. There are also major changed in Harry's life in some ways, that I expect to see reflected in the next books.

I really like the way Dresden set up things close to the end of the book; it is a bit more devious than we have seen before, and I find it refreshing. It also involves another character it would be fun to see more of in the future.

Some of the characters are still somewhat two-dimensional; they are fairly predictable, and can be described in one short sentence. Still, they are entertaining enough.

All in all, the book is well into the 'fair' category. The ending, however, is good enough to lift it into the 'good' category.

About the author Jim Butcher

Book 1: Storm Front (2000)
Book 2: Fool Moon (2001)
Book 3: Grave Peril (2001)
Book 4: Summer Knight (2002)
Book 5: Death Masks (2003)
Book 6: Blood Rites (2004)
Book 7: Dead Beat (2005)
Book 8: Proven Guilty (2006)
Book 9: White Night (2007)
Book 10: Small Favor (2008)
Book 11: Turn Coat (2009)
Book 12: Changes (2010)
Book 13: Ghost Story (2011)
Book 14: Cold Days (2012)
Book 15: Skin Game (2014)

Back to T
Back to title index